The simplest setup to use the HVL-F20AM

I have been getting queries on how the HVL-F20AM would be used.  Well, I guess its high time I post information to answer those day to day queries as I go along.  Here is a diagram on how the little cute flash is to be used on …I believe all future alpha DSLR bodies that would come without pop-up flashes – just like our A900.

Its a very simple setup that now possible without having to use the HVL-F58AM to trigger other flashes.  One thing I personally love is the weight.  I do not have to carry the camera+grip with lens on and another big flash on board to trigger other remote flashes in a studio or event.

  1. Slin
    August 20, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Any one knows if the HVL-F20AM could be used like wireless control mounted in a A700 (trigger other flashes)?

    • alphastrobist
      August 20, 2009 at 3:36 am

      Hi Slin,

      Based on the info in the user manual, the HVL-F20AM is meant to operate as a remote flash trigger only when mounted on cameras that do not have a built-in flash – like the A900 and probably the rumoured A850. Else, on other camera bodies, it would be a higher guide numbered flash [GN20] that might be useful for smaller DSLR bodies with GN10.

      Rds,
      Sulhan

    • alphastrobist
      December 8, 2009 at 8:33 pm

      Hi Slin,

      I believe the HVL-F20AM is only made for use on the A900/A850 – and other cameras that do not have built-in flashes.

      Rgds,
      Sulhan

  2. Amir
    August 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Hi there,

    I recently bought f58 to pair it with my a850 and f20. I am lost at setting the wireless of my f20 mounted on my a850 and f58 as off camera flash. Still failed to do it. Hope i can have some assistance on the setting on f58 and a850 here..

    Thanks.

    Amir

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

